top of page
Search
  • hannaheustace

Ethics aren't optional

Hey blog viewers, it's been a while! Today, i'm going to talk about something important. I've been given a prompt to answer for my business ethics class. I was asked to create something to express how ethics won't be a side hustle in my future work. Thats a really profound statement. How can I make sure ethics aren't my side hustle? What can I personally do to include ethics to my day job? Well, my initial answer is, I don't know. I know what i'd like to say. I'd like to say that I will be working at my dream job in a year. Lets say, I am a freelance event planner. In a perfect world, my work would be based on ethics. I would make sure the products we used were ethical, the people I hire to help me are ethical, the venues and vendors I work alongside are ethical. I can't say that because I don't know where I will end up.

 

What I can say is, I will make it my personal responsibility to remain ethical at all times necessary. As much as I would love to control the others around me, I know that I am only in charge of myself. Personally, behaving ethically in the work place is extremely important to me. Ethics means to me you have certain standards and behaviors that you chose. I identify with Deontology. Deontology means you have a duty or behavior that you follow to choose the right thing. I am personally wired to do the right thing. I am not saying by any means I am perfect, but I live my life trying to do the right thing, even when its hard. I have found in my almost 23 years of living that the right thing is usually hard but you do it anyway. An example of deontology would be, you're running late to class and need a parking spot. You see a spot open, but there is already a car on the other side waiting to pull in. What do you do? You could just pull in and solve your problem, or you could do the right thing and keep driving. I have come across this scenario countless times at Tarleton State. As much as I would love to just take the spot, morally I cannot. Some people would say, "Well isn't that obvious?" The sad part is, I don't think most people see it as the obvious answer. Today, the world works as me, me, me. What can I get and how fast? My duty is to remain ethical, and follow my moral code in a world full of people who have lost theirs.


 

I hope that answers the prompt. I can't control the area around me, but I can control mine. I have a duty to myself to be morally correct and ethical and maybe, just maybe, someone will decide they like what they see and a change will be made. I agree with Mike Monterrio the writer of "Ethics can't be a side hustle."He spoke about the people who are concerned with charity work and non-profits. While they act like jerks at their day jobs, on the side they go do this great work. And while its great that they are doing this great work, it takes a bit of the sparkle and shine away knowing they are jerks in their everyday. I think the change starts with you, right where you're at. Be that positive force in the office and watch a change be made. You never know who needs your kindness.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page